Rage of Bahamut

Review

Preface

I do suggest you to read my notes as well after the review so you can witness my descend into insanity

This was a rollercoaster, a rollercoaster where the destination was in a ditch. Honestly, this had such great potential to be a fun anime, like Genesis was genuinely fun and then… virgin soul doesn’t exist so I will start with genesis and the good.

The good (genesis)

We had the gluttonous queen, Amira, an amazing brotherhood of love and hate between Kaiser and Favaro, the great funny duo of the Duck god Hamsa and the Drunk god Bacchus and Rita who is well Rita. The main highlight of the show was definitely in the OST and animation, with the studio being mappa, two of the openings being by SiM and overall OST was just absolutely peak chefskiss. While the story wasn’t the most outstanding, I did have a few wtf moments namely

Martinet

me going from thinking Lucifer is Amira’s father, then seeing Martinet in the flashback thinking “Yea that looks like Lucifer”, to then learning about Lazalley having the amulet thinking he is the father, then learning that Lazalley was just a bodyguard so going back to the theory that Lucifer is the father, to then seeing Martinet for the first time and knowing he isn’t Lucifer so ok he has to be the father right? Then this man pulls the “All your memories were fabricated by me” card and to top it all off “Beelzebub was more like your mother than your birth mother” card just fucking insane

Genuinely, with all of the aspects I liked about genensis it was a great anime with the exception of a somehwat lacking story and at times 1 dimensional characters… Like I still want to see Bacchus’ entire backstory with how he got kicked out etc. And I do have to note here too I really loved the short stories as well, we got proper closure to Kaiser and Favaro then we got some bond building with Jeanne and Kaiser it was nice and wholesome.

The negatives (virgin soul)

All of Virgin Soul. I think off the top of my head the only positive thing I can remember about Virgin Soul that isn’t the music or the fights… Is Azazel, genuinely he became my favorite character in Virgin Soul… everyone else just… existed. Nina is the worst character I have had to follow as a main character, there’s nothing good about her character I like. The king is just a piece of shit villain with no redeeming qualities, why? Because it doesn’t matter if he played football with those demon kids when he caused their entire species to be persecuted and enslaved. Nothing he could do can make up for anything and the fact that Nina still continues to… yea just things that gave me headaches. I daresay I haven’t seen such a big fumble since Promise Neverland Season 2, cause this is the biggest disappointment I have had since then. And to be clear, my outlook on Virgin soul wouldn’t change for the better if I hadn’t watched Genesis, in fact I would rate Virgin Soul even worse as a standalone. It is only this high because of Genesis’ legacy and the characters. Thus, I would like to pretend Virgin Soul never even existed because hell… the ending of the anime sure disregards 90% of what happened because Bahamut didn’t die, the genocide never had a point to begin with, and we still have a tyrant on the throne

Overall, I’d give Genesis a 8/10, the Short Stories a 7.5/10 and Virgin Soul a 4/10. For a final score of: 5/10

Notes

Genesis

  • CG Dragon at the very start?! I am going to be eating good CG dragon
  • Zeus that you? zeus
  • Ok cool intro, I’m hooked
  • She can steal my soul Pretty eyes
  • Favaro saw those summons and instantly ran 😭 is that a Jojo’s reference? SubaruTeehee
  • Magic that turns people into a tablet? That’s actually pretty cool for capture missions Tablet Prisoner
  • This fucking duck… uhh… yea that’s the same VA as the angel from reincarnated as the 7th prince pretty sure so fitting Garf Talking Duck
  • The summon waiting for the dog to move out of the way so it can completely pass through Goated Giant Summon
  • Holy peak, we love strong woman Goated Demonic mommy
  • And the music that plays during this Chef's Kiss
  • Bro has truly formed a deal with a demon with that kiss
  • Is that the fucking OP/ED I hear during credits of 1st ep?! Regardless of which of the two it is its peak
  • There is a Jeanne D’Arc in this anime so Jalter when? mhm
  • CYGAMES?!??!?! This anime couldn’t have gotten more of my attention. Literally up at 01:16 watching it Cygames credits
  • The opening is good and sounds familiar… holy shit it’s fucking SiM no wonder 😭
  • Oh they mentioned two keys and one got lost or something, so that key is probably her I don’t think they mentioned her name and they said they sent the humans to find it which are the Orleans knight order we see
  • Amira huh Noted
  • Or the pendant is the key not her specifically, but it could easily be either or
  • And her mother could be the second key, thus her reaching Helheim is seemingly “calamity”
  • She is the key, who could’ve expected
  • Ah favaro’s father’s bandit group must’ve been the one that attacked the tribute to the king which got Kaiser’s father killed, the classic blame the child for the sins of the father
  • Her face lighting up when food is mentioned, she really has nothing but food in her head foodie
  • Her father is going to be Bahamut or some shit 😭
  • Well… that’s edible at least so will be good motivation for her Big Crab
  • Yep, no brain all food food for thought
  • Time for a dynamic change then huh, Favaro with Rita & Kaiser with Amira
  • I have slept, and I can definitely say I enjoy the opening more now that I am not suffering from lack of sleep
  • From how he’s speaking, Azazel is probably the demon who killed Kaiser and Favaro’s fathers
  • Yep
  • Oh.. maybe lucifer is her father? Since lucifer is also a fallen angel a better one than azazel so he might’ve been able to get her in the Ark?
  • Wait… huh????? This guy has the other pendant?? 2nd pendant
  • Yea that silhouette looks like what I’d imagine lucifer to look like, and the mother is an angel not that surprising Amira's Father's Silhouette?
  • So that was Zeus, I’m glad to have been right about at least that evidence
  • The knight who has the pendant… sounds like sanji… don’t tell me..
  • It is, now the image is forever ingrained in my head rip Levalley's VA's roles
  • LMAO that’s such a funny shot kekw Azazel death
  • What… is the deal with Lazalley…
  • Uhh… I don’t like she is at the bahamut statue and getting flashbacks scawy
  • Ah hell nah… Azazel is still alive this cockroach
  • Beelzebub is cool looking Beelzebub
  • Ok great, Azazel is surely dead this time…
  • Hmmm that seems different from the demonish guy we saw so that wasn’t lucifer after all.. Also damn that’s some shiny armor Lucifer
  • sanji isn’t a demon at least
  • Not the king having the shrieking like a girl at the end of episode 8 is peak kekw
  • OMG it’s the guy from Amira’s flashback and it took me until now to realize that’s Tsuda Kenjirou tsuda kenjirou
  • There is no way Jeanne actually get’s killed right… the drunk bald “god” will surely save her clueless
  • Did he make her a demon?
  • Oh… he did alright, and the eyes remind me of Amira too… Jeanne eyes
  • This cockroach is still alive rip Azazel again
  • Damn, beelzebub was the loving mother. So, I think we learned that Beelzebub for best mom?
  • Tsuda really plays a good villain
  • Ah shit… well nice to know the angels… they’re all going to be dead
  • Exactly what I want from Favaro lol, I do expect this to be his plan to get close and kill Amira though Favaro's plan
  • Umm… sir.. that’s very gay
Disturbing, look at your own discretion

Favaro Tongue

  • The OST that plays while Kaiser falls into the abyss after Favaro’s betrayal is just cheff's kiss
  • Wait… I have been so focussed on literally everything else… I literally asked “Jalter when?” earlier on and what we have rn is literally Jalter LOL
  • Uriel the warframe? clueless Ok I’ll stop making bad jokes now and focussing on finishing kirburger_wide
  • Trying to finger flick the antitode in during a midair battle is crazy, and I’d be pissed if it worked cause that’d be bullshit
  • Dayumn, michael french kissing jeanne GOATED
  • He actually is a god, I better see Bacchus in Virgin Soul too then
  • Ok Favaro, this is the time kill Amira
  • As soon as sanji got the deeper voice he became evil
  • THIS OST is going hard catJam
  • Damn, not even banter for the preview this episode
  • No… Like seriously what the actual fuck did Belzeebub think was going to happen??? That the harbinger of destruction was going to treat him like his master cause he had a part in undoing his seal???? This is greatest levels of delusion I have witnessed in recent times dumb guy
  • Holy shit… this was brilliant… hell I’d even forgotten about this move as a whole Lazalley Tablet
  • My Man Adult Fava
  • This was a nice “conclusive” end with Amira’s stuff, I am really looking forward to Virgin Soul now but first the short stories first

Genesis - Short Stories

  • I like how we are starting right from where Genesis ends, it said it was between genesis and virgin soul so I thought a midway point or something
  • This is a nice relaxation series after what happened at the end
  • Ok the first one was really sweet, revisiting their father’s graves and meeting Fava’s mother learning more about their fathers was nice too
  • Damn Kaiser, he really showing his true skills now that he isn’t faced with demons/favaro lol
  • Another fun wholesome one, now time for Bahamut’s rerevial ig or whatever virgin soul has in store for me scawy

Virgin Soul

  • I have to say, if there is one thing I really like about this series it’s the OST this shit is fire
  • Humans attacking the angels, great start
  • Forbidden power by the gods, dark magic?
  • Also is that… Kaiser??? That sounds blasphemous cause it is, but if I don’t make shit predictions I am not me Kaiser?
  • Rag demon? That’s a very creative name for him
  • My boy Kaiser is here… and since he did come to this place I am assuming he can’t do anything to the slave traders pensivedoll
  • Charioce huh, the new king oh wait he looks like that knight I called Kaiser earlier
  • After the war demons really did get degraded to slaves huh, I wonder where our favorite cockroach Azazel is in all this
  • There he is Azazel returns
  • And my boy Bacchus is still around let’s goo
  • Oh the rag demon is Azazel, makes sense though I am more curious about the person/demon with Azazel
  • I know who Nina reminds me of, the dog demon who was with Azazel
  • She’s a dragon, cool
  • Oh Rita, she looks as done with life as ever
  • This is really just a fuck the humans season, I mean they were shitty before too we just didn’t interact with them as much
  • Why is Kaiser always starting on the wrong side of history
  • We need the goat favaro to come back, kill the shitty king and become the king
  • Azazel saying “Baha Baha Baha Soul” is just so funny 😭
  • Bacchus was exiled from heaven, I wonder what he did think
  • Do her power of transformation or whatever come from horniness?? I don’t know what other word I could use here 😭
  • I hate the king, I hope nothing happens to change that genuinely want someone to kick his teeth in
  • Her teacher is a bounty hunter…FAVARO?!?!?
  • IT IS FAVARO THE GOAT goated fava the goat
  • We need to bring the goat out of retirement for this guy Shit King
  • Ohh rocky is Kaiser’s chopped off hand kekw peak, and this is why I don’t skip out on the previews in this show
  • I haven’t mentioned it much but I don’t really vibe with the current ED as much as Genesis’ ED, the OP is also good since SiM but not as much as Genesis for that either
  • And then consider Fava taught her, I don’t like her character that much as of now but I am interested in her background Small Bahamut
  • OHH it’s virgin soul, she’s the virgin we need to un-virgin her huh that is the wildest thing I have ever said I think… Azazel's Sus
  • the holy child is jeanne’s child i mean that makes sense but with who?? and jeanne is in prison???
  • Ah michael is the father, she must’ve gotten pregnant from that kiss mhm Jeanne in Prison
  • At least the previous king was just a bitch, this guy is just racism pro max
  • And props to Kaiser for standing up to the king and calling out his bullshit to his face
  • LMAO and Hamsa’s comment after didn’t help him at all kekw What you doing there Bacchus?
  • Yea I really don’t like her entire character gimmick, it’s just annoying
  • Of all people for her to fall in love with it’s that shit
  • Yea fuck you 5 hours
  • CG parade, peak
  • Azazel had the same reaction as me to finding out that Mugaro is a woman I’d say it’s still not confirmed
  • Damn not even a kiss attempt worked, she’s essentially useless now and is the reason why we lose this battle rip
  • Knowing everyone is going to be one the floor dead makes this entire battle just worse
  • Going from “The Day of Victory” to “The Day of Defeat” despairge
  • It’s crazy how this anime made me turn from an Azazel hater to an Azazel supporter
  • Don’t tell me she can’t transform without being horny
  • Yep she can’t, holy ass
  • The only thing she can do is yap and no action, genuinely everyone is pising me off
  • Wow they imprisoned my boy Bacchus, yea I don’t like the gods either. Azazel and Bacchus the only real ones
  • HE’S IN THE FUCKING PRISON???? THIS FUCKER IMPRISONED THE GOAT??
  • Age has done a number on my goat Favaro is back
  • The only thing good about this is that the best duo is back together
  • I like how Kaiser always has misunderstandings about the innocence of the dangerous women Fava finds
  • Is her lack of control because of her being half and the others are pureblooded dragons? Maybe
  • Wow… she didn’t find Fava hot when he had his afro… yea more reasons not to like her, she doesn’t like Afros
  • Nice fight nice fight
  • This bitch is still here and not helping Azazel smh dog girl
  • She’s hearing about her child for the first time in prison and from fucking Nina of all people
  • Yea it literally is her and Michael’s child lol, that kiss changed everything
  • Demon 101 tactics, kill the child that threatens me amazing demon king
  • She did everything to keep El safe man, and yes Maguro/El is a boy Nina is just challenged
  • Also watch this nina bitch still be mad in love with the king after knowing he is the “handsome guy” and she will have that “I can fix him” mentality
  • Also this godhood ceremony is probably going to be very bad something, I don’t trust these gods bring back Michael like I feel like they are probably influencing El’s thoughts somehow… other than the fact that El is like what? 7 years old? Since this is 10 years after genesis and in the flashback before her exile jeanne talked about how she killed the gods 3 years ago (aka when she was Jalter)
  • Me asf Kaiser me asf
  • Also I was right about her still liking him… after her entire speech infront of him before too, I can’t wait for the rest of what I said about it to be true as well
  • Mfw another cliche My face when another cliche
  • OST still fire btw, that is the only thing + animation that hasn’t degraded one bit
  • Get as far away as possible… my guy is literally in the same cell 😭 explosive hand
  • Yea El went feral, you guys brought this upon yourself
  • Help? bitch he the one who did all this god help my soul, I need my dose of Bacchus
  • Oh new OP cool, I like it
  • Ominous linuep, especially the location of each character… scawy nightmare lineup
  • I’d like to believe in Dias but uhh no one has a good track record Dias' speech of the knight order's revival
  • No actually… what about him is great?? Like literally what other than his face? Apparantly great tyrant racist king has great qualities too
  • Gilfs are great caught Grandma is a sick dragon
  • New ED time, and it’s alright
  • I was wondering where Lucifer was ngl I was half convinced he died in the battle with Bahamut
  • They legitimately put Azazel in the worst place, making him kill demons rip
  • Wait… I just realized… granny is Goku’s VA holy shit yea even before she was better than nina now she is the best among the side cast
  • Instantly bought by the wine, as I’d expect from the resident drunk god
  • Just look at this bitchy face… bitch angel
  • Gabriel literally gave the kid a god complex, this is probably her way of getting “Michael” back
  • Kaiser and Azazel fighting to the death while Fava just watches casually lol
  • I have reached the point… where I just don’t give a fuck what happens lol I am now moving forward with a turn my brain off mentality I am at where they kissed can’t even be bothered to ss
  • She… is once again going to ruin the plan by not transforming isn’t she…
  • Please do Fava I can’t with this shit Favaro points crossbow at nina and asshole
  • Cool dragon v dragon fight
  • Alessand probably betrayed, who could’ve guessed
  • IS HE FUCKING STUPID???? WHYYYYYYY… his entire character was “Oh I joined the order cause of Jeanne” and always complaining about no jeanne, he finally meets jeanne and her kid oooh I can kill her kid to get into the black knights and be a bigger racist piece of shit my dream… Fuck alessand
  • We need another genocide, a genocide of humans this time where’s eren when you need him?
  • “So I killed the holy child… but I don’t want to risk my life”… does he have a brain? Kaiser's Betrayer
  • for the last 4 eps I am not taking notes cause nothing worth noting other than more complaints
  • Bruh I don’t care if it is to kill Bahamut, he’s still hitler still so much stupid shit that they made me go back on what I said smh
  • And I frankly don’t get why he needs to commit genocide to kill Bahamut, does the weapon recharge using the souls of the innocent? yell at me if I overlooked it because I zoned out
  • Yet he’s the one who has already picked a fight with them and tried to kill El 2 years ago too doesn’t matter much does it Description
  • I swear if Alessand gets forgiven…
  • Honestly Dias… deserved for even attempting to forgive him you deserve to die by him
  • Damn he blocked it smh you can die too Dias no one will miss you
  • YESSS KIDDD LET’S FUCKING GOOOO, the only person with balls in this show letsfuckingo
  • Zombie traversal is better mode of transportation than Bachuss’ hippogryphs ngl
  • They just killed him off…
  • Bahamut I urge you to destroy everything
  • Best thing to happen, no more stupid shit from her mouth Description
  • They ended the anime by making the entirety of virgin soul useless… That’s such a virgin soul move.. Even Kaiser is alive again… I wasted 24 episodes of my life Description