ORB: On the Movements of the Earth Review

Review

Spoilers Ahead!

You have been warned! Though really you should watch the show before reading on, amazing watch.

Holy this was one hell of a show, honestly when ORB was first airing it went kinda under the radar for me I had heard many things surrounding it mostly positive things but at the time I wasn’t really in the mood to watch seasonal animes and just didn’t have the time so I ignored it. But I’m glad I got to watch this show now, this was genuinely my most enjoyable watch of this contracts season, in terms of anime nothing else came close. From, the start to almost the end because the ending was… uh yeah… interesting. I really loved Rafal, genuinely such a fucking goat of a character and I have a quote about him that essentially sums up the entire show: “My goat Rafal pulling a generational ragebait” - @visha.

Then we have Oczy from his introduction and how he was scared of looking at the sky to the point where he finally gazes upon the sky and starts to love everything about Earth, him learning to read and write just for the sake of passing down not the theory or the semantics of Heliocentrism but just his experience, his thoughts just conveying emotions through words. And then Badeni, who ngl I didn’t really like much at all until the very end for the way he ended up preserving Oczy’s book and I had to give credit where credit is due. Finally, but not the least, the goat from the start our man Nowak. After Rafal, I think my favorite character is definitely Nowak cause man his entire character arc and the conclusion to it was just perfect the show should’ve ended here. My thoughts on the characters will definitely be more evident from going through my notes below which I took while watching the episodes themselves. I usually only end up posting reviews with my notes when I really really love the show. Overall though, keeping the ending in mind I think I’ll have to go with a 9, if the ending was different or it ended before the bs I’d say it would’ve been a 10 for me.

Score: 9/10

Notes

  • I really like the premise of this show, science is so cool man

  • Dad (writing his name makes me think I have dyslexia) I know you tried to do the correct thing, but fuck you still

  • The balls on my man Rafal, dying in order to ensure the inspiration survives

  • I like how the “main character” showed in the first few secs of the opening got changed in episode 4

  • The OST chef’s kiss I always liked the OP and ED from the start, but what really made me aware of and appreciate the OST was Episode 5 where they discover the chest left behind by Hubert and Rafal

  • Man, Oczy regaining hope in Earth and being able to see the Sky again as he doesn’t fear it anymore

  • Someone punch this man for me Someone punch this man for me

  • Absolute Cinema Absolute Cinema

  • Also I didn’t mention before, but they really out here observing planets with the naked eye. The dedication

  • Classist ahh mfer, will take a lot for them to make me like him if they even try to do that Classist

  • This is going to go horribly wrong, you should never leave something for tomorrow. Never leave for tomorrow

  • I am so fucking tense and worried Tense and worried

  • FUUUUUUCK bro nowak being the biggest pain in the ass since day 1

  • AHHH it was the priest who gave the tip, I had completely forgotten about him finding that diary… Actually how tf did that even get there??? Did I forget/miss something?

  • He saw the necklace… and just when I was about to breathe a sigh of relief and yes what a great title Great title

  • Ma boi, though I am very worried Ma boi

  • The damn necklace been haunting nowak for a decade lol

  • My man not playing around with this crossbow deflection holy Crossbow deflection

  • LMFAO LMFAO

  • I get you man, I’d have that reaction too considering the conversation they had in the carriage lol Reaction

  • Fuck this world…

  • This hit hard Emotional

  • This shit came full circle, time for the Nowak to be the spearhead for heliocentrism GOATED

  • Ok nvm he heard that it was all for dumb political reasons so he let her escape

  • Nvm jolenta lives and nowak gonna go feral, well played idiot son of the bishop thank you for the contribution

  • I swear if nowak doesn’t go feral, this man never gonna get appreciated in my eyes

  • OMG the book I was wondering how it randomly got there was badeni’s backup plan, nah absolute cinema play from badeni

  • AND the beggars were involved too!! nah goated and this man said he wanted to not leave this achievement for the future generations and that helping beggars is useless

  • Holy… writing out Oczy’s book on the beggars heads GOATED

  • Ooh a lot of changes in the episode 16 opening, new mc obviously, and no nowak rip

  • He isn’t going to use gunpowder right?

  • Fuck they have gunpowder… it’s so joever for the church

  • Wait surely Nowak is the leader of this resistance group, that would be peak

  • I’ll probably need more time with this new ED

  • Good for her she found Oczy’s book… man fuck that old man

  • Also fuck that pope’s son, man I want Nowak to come crush his skull in right before he gets to her grr

  • The book even mentions to give 10% of the profits to Potocki, and that’s why Oczy is the goat

  • NOOO do not hand over the book to this bitch, where the fuck is that guy from the resistance

  • YESSSS YESSSS

  • Wait a minute… is the leader Jolenta?? That would actually make more sense than it being Nowak since she knew Oczy was writing a book

  • IT IS!!! My girl looks great Jolenta

  • I see the years have worn down my man, but he still got the goated VA Nowak aged

  • Ohh Damian is that inquisitor who’d follow Nowak around, I was wondering that

  • Wait if they are leaving, Nowak got a tip on the suspicious barn, and Jolenta is planning to stay here… FUCKK, this is going to be interesting in how Nowak deals with this

  • I love that conversation between Jolenta and uh… whatever her name is. Man these convos are what makes this anime so great.

  • Ok now I’m really worried about the confrontation between Jolenta and Nowak, honestly I think it would be horrible if neither of them recognize each other

  • Man I love this show Love this show

  • Man I hate this show… They didn’t even properly see each other

  • This is all we get All we get

  • Also might be too late to mention this but I don’t trust Frie or whatever the name of the somewhat quiet guy in Schmidt’s group is (at Episode 21)

  • Ughhh I hate being correct And that Kid was Frei, I was thinking it could be Schmidt and that’s why he hates the Church and man-made things but no it was Frei and he still chose this path? Crazy

  • Rip Schmidt, even at this age Nowak’s still got it

  • No way… we aren’t making this guy join our cause are we?!?!

  • sigh in the end we use this corrupt mf for our goals, it is what it is. All for the sake of continuing Rafal’s ragebait legacy

  • Nowak about to crash the fuck out

  • So this where the scene in the OP of Rafal being in a burning building comes from Burning building

  • And you were a great one at that Great one

Scene 1 Scene 2

  • I loved the therapy session “Rafal” gave to Nowak near the end

  • This show is peak Peak

  • So will Albert be the new carrier of the torch?

  • Man this part of the opening just being black and not having Nowak is just depressing Opening without Nowak

  • Wtf… Wouldn’t this man have to be in his 40s to be tutored by Rafal Age question

  • Ok looking at the meeting and seeing that there are WOMEN there… Wtf Rafal you were part of a secret society?

  • Honestly I can’t even guess what I am going to see in this final episode

  • I didn’t know Rafal was an established murderer too… wtf has been going on since Draka and the rest died???? This shit too much for me

  • “What must one offer to obtain the truth of our world?” back to the OG question

  • 23?!? but… Rafal died 35 years ago… and this is current time since the letter written by Jolenta reached now Confused at the ending

  • I don’t think I have been this confused at the end of an anime…